



Benzie Transportation Authority Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors May 21, 2024 @ 6:40PM 14150 US 31 Beulah, MI 49617 Minutes approved as presented July 30, 2024

- 1. Call to Order by Chair John Morse @ 6:23PM
- Roll call to determine quorum: Present: Anne Noah, Jeannette Feeheley, Chris Kitchen, Sara Miller, Brian Halliday, Dorene Strang, John Morse and Evan Warsecke (ex-officio). Staff present: Jessica Carland, Chad Hollenbeck, Wendy Wedemeier and Nancy Hunt.
- 3. Welcome and recognition of visitors: None
- 4. Correspondence Board Appointments
- 5. Amendments/Additions to agenda: Named depositories and authorized signatories moved to after election of officers
- 6. Public comment: None
- 7. Approval of agenda: *Motion* by Miller with support by Kitchen to approve agenda as amended. All ayes, *motion carried*.
- 8. Call for conflict of interest: None
- Resolution 2024-02 Regular Board Meeting dates for June 2024 May 202: *Motion* by Kitchen with support by Halliday to accept the Resolution 2024-02 Regular Board Meeting Schedule for June 2024 - May 2025. Roll call vote: Ayes: Kitchen, Strang, Miller. Feeheley. Noah, Halliday and Morse. Nays: None, *motion carried*.
- 10. Investment strategy discussion/review: *Motion* by Halliday with support by Kitchen to approve the current investment strategy in which funds are diversified so that no more than 50% of BTA's assets are in one financial institution, with a limit of \$250k per institution with the exception of Michigan Class. All ayes, *motion carried*.
- 11. Named depositories and authorized signatories
- 12. Approved attorney(s): Mark Koerner: *Motion* by Feeheley with support by Noah to continue with Mark Koerner as the approved attorney. All ayes, *motion carried*.
- 13. Review of board terms of office & contact information: Contact sheet was passed around and Hunt will make updates and distribute at the next board meeting.
- 14. Election of officers
 - a. Board Chair: Noah was nominated by Morse. Feeheley was nominated by Strang: Feeheley declined the nomination. *Motion* by Morse and supported by Kitchen to close nominations and that Noah be appointed as the Board Chair. All ayes, *motion carried*.
 - b. Board Vice Chair: Kitchen was nominated by Halliday. *Motion* by Morse and supported by Feeheley to close nominations and to appoint Kitchen as the Board Vice-Chair. All ayes, *motion carried*.

- c. Board Secretary: Miller was nominated by Morse. Feehley was nominated by Strang. Silent ballots cast with 4 in favor of Miller and 3 in favor of Feeheley for the position of Board Secretary. Miller is appointed as Board Secretary.
- d. Board Treasurer: Kitchen nominated Morse. Feeheley nominated Strang. Secret Ballot Voting took place. Four votes for Morse and three for Strang. Morse is appointed as Board Treasurer.
- 15. Named depositories and authorized signatories: *Motion* by Morse with support by Kitchen that named depositories be renewed as is. Sophia Hogarth and the 2024-2025 Board Chair to be added as authorized signatories. All ayes, *motion carried*.
- 16. Committee assignments: Noah presented the Committee slate. She discussed the importance of trusting the work of the members of each committee. *Motion* by Kitchen with support by Morse to accept committee assignments as recommended by Noah. All ayes, *motion carried*.

Finance	Personnel and Policy	Executive & Operations	Millage Committee
Sara Miller	Chris Kitchen	Anne Noah	Brian Halliday
Jeannette Feeheley	Jeanette Feeheley	Chris Kitchen	John Morse
John Morse	Dorene Strang	Sara Miller	Dorene Strang
Brian Halliday	Anne Noah, ex-officio	John Morse	Anne Noah, ex-officio
Anne Noah, ex-officio		County Commissioner	

- 17. Public comment: Morse was thanked for his leadership and service during COVID and difficult circumstances. Noah was thanked for assuming the role as Board Chair.
- 18. Next meeting: May 2025

19. Adjournment @ 7:06PM	
Nancy Hunt, Recording Secretary	 Date